About me
Partly 7 April 2009; last updated: 20 Jul 2006
From: Prolific Oven, Fremont CA
Current waste of time: Aimless internet maunderings

Preserving this for posterity --> Actually, I got my MA in TESOL and did start my own business, but I haven't gone to teach in Japan yet, and I'm actually working on that Stanford thesis. [I'm a graduate student in TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) at CSUEB (California State University East Bay, formerly CSUH). I'm also working on a master's in East Asian Studies at Stanford University. I've completed my coursework but have put my thesis on hold. The current master plan is to write my TESOL thesis, get started on my Stanford thesis, move to Japan and buy lots of kimono and dolls and shokugan and art magazines and--I mean, teach at a reputable university for a while, and then start my own English consulting business. But who knows ...]

CURRENT STATUS> Graduated from CSUEB, working on that Stanford thesis.

I'm currently 31. I live in Fremont, California, which is on the south end of the East Bay. Its claims to fame are: it has the US' largest ethnically Afghan population, and its Niles district was home to Arkansan Bronco Billy Andersen's Essenay Studios, where early Charlie Chaplin films were made. I like it here! I spent 12 years, including undergraduate school, in Fayetteville, Arkansas, and met my husband, Clint, in the honors program at the University of Arkansas.

Clint received his MS in computer science from UC Berkeley, but his passion is improving science and math education. He proposed on 10 October, 2002, and we were married on August 22, 2003, in a private ceremony. He proposed during an episode of CSI--but he did turn the TV off first. We've been together since April of 1999, and that's the best thing that ever happened to me. Please visit our wedding website! You can also look at wedding photos and a photo-and-text journal from our honeymoon in Japan.

Random information: My favorite holiday is Halloween. I have a sewing machine, but I need to learn to sew. My late cat still sometimes blogs (don't ask). I'm working on learning to cook more things. I like a range of music, including lots of Japanese, Chinese, and Taiwanese artists, but rarely have the time or cash to pursue anything systematically. I read a lot when I have the time, especially graphic novels, urban fantasy, science fiction, history, science, women's studies, etc. I go to sf and anime conventions sometimes, but I don't cosplay anymore (maybe someday). I like to write, draw, and paint, but have not been too inspired lately (although I do have a novel in progress, supposedly). When I am inspired, my friend Paul is often responsible for it--as well as the encouragement that keeps me going when I'm not. I'm trying to teach myself to take decent digital photos, too, in a very lazy fashion, and you know, I think I'm getting better at it!

CURRENT STATUS> Novels: 1 ||| Novel words: ~4150 ||| Short stories: 4 ||| SS words: 5500 What? I don't even know what I was counting here anymore.

I'm generally very liberal in my thinking. Causes include same-sex marriage rights, freedom of speech, and accessible health care. (I'm a big fan of my congressional representative, Pete Stark). I'm also serious about the importance of feminism to everyone on the planet who is or has ever cared about a woman.

If you want to contact me, you can e-mail me at wintersweet AT sharedwing D0T net.

China and Tibet, Nepal, and Thailand, summer, 1999
Taiwan, residence and language study in Taipei, June-Aug 2002
Japan, December-January 2003-2004

Secondary languages:
Mandarin Chinese
(both in various degrees of progress)

Back to main page